Recap of events (9/25)…

27 Sep

On Saturday, Cat and I got up at the crack of dawn, hitched up the Smart Cart to the Volvo and headed over to the Green City Market, 6am to be exact (it turns out people actually shop for veggies that early, go figure). It was a special day for me, since I rigged my bike up with a hitch and took one of our custom made bike trailers on its maiden voyage up to Lincoln Park. It performed incredibly well, and other than a little extra weight/noise (potholes) behind me, I didn’t really notice it at all.

Once we got into position in the Market, we opened up the mothership for all the public to see. We decided not to compete with all the produce exchange and cooking demos happening, and instead offered up a different set of programming. We brought to the table (ahem): food story/archive, recipe giveaway, and a very successful vermiculture (worm bin) raffle. Many, many people came up to us wanting to know more about our project (and some who already knew of us!). Thanks to all who came out to support on a very chilly fall Saturday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

-derek

