Pumpkins!

1 Nov

Ok, so Halloween is over (thank god), and now your sitting there in your sugar induced coma thinking to yourself “I have 3 jack-o-lanterns rotting on my stoop, what do I do with them?” Well look no further than this exact blog post!

A couple weeks ago, my girlfriend and I took a little road trip up to Royal Oak Farms in Harvard, IL. We barely made it for the last week of apple picking, but it was high season in the pumpkin patch. They had so many different varieties of pumpkin that I had to buy a couple to cook with. We finally settle on a medium Cinderella (which is so pretty it looks fake), and a Peanut pumpkin (a variety that has strange peanut growths growing on the outer layer). Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to rip them open and start cooking.

So instead of dressing up and trick-or-treating, I was in the kitchen and cooked the following: curried pumpkin and parsnip soup, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cookies and of course roasted all the seeds (in addition to making the last of the Cortlands into applesauce). In other words, I went pumpkin crazy! And you should too. Here are some great links for you to check out about pumpkin history, recipes, varieties, etc. Enjoy.

All about pumpkins

Leftover pumpkin? Six ways to use them

Pumpkin history

-derek

